General Computer Protection Strategies to Employ

In addition to buying software for anti-hacking and anti-virus protection, there are a number of additional strategies that you can employ on your computer and as you operate your computer to help protect it against intrusion and to protect your information wherever you may choose to let it reside. Here’s a list of some tips that will help you.

Turn off or logout of your computer when not using it – the less time your computer is online, the less it is being seen by externals that may mean you harm.

If you have more than one person in your household using your computer, set up separate “firewalled” accounts for each of them – don’t let people onto your system through your own login and password.

Keep your anti-virus software as current as you can. Update it regularly so that you are protected against the newer viruses that have been identified and have been guarded against by your anti-virus software provider.

Increase the privacy settings on your computer. In an upcoming lecture, I show you how to update these settings if you are using Windows 10. Watch that video as well and also be looking to update your privacy settings on older versions of Windows if that is what you are running on your computer.

Be careful opening PDF files you receive from external sources. Hackers and software virus creators have in recent times found this to be an effective platform for sending out their damage causing payloads.

Regarding e-mails, don’t be curious. If you don’t know where an e-mail came from, don’t open it. If you do open an e-mail from someone you don’t know and/or that you received in an unsolicited manner, do not click on any links found within the e-mail. Executable viruses are sometimes attached to what you think is just a link to another site.

If you are concerned about the authenticity of an e-mail address when you have received an e-mail, check it out by looking at the “Details” dropdown you can click next to the e-mail name. I have sometimes even taken this one step further by checking out their e-mail domain address using a domain provider to do a “Who Is” search when I am really wondering about where something came from.

Be careful of all downloads to your computer. Be sure you know the source is safe and you are on a real webpage belonging to that source when you download the content. Hackers are now setting up “Fake” webpages that look like real businesses to lure you in so that they can access you through downloads from their sites.

Using the “Cloud” for storage is risky – even places like Google Drive, Dropbox, etc. can be hacked. Cloud storage locations seem to be prime targets for hackers. These are convenient storage and data backup locations for many so if you want to use them, here are a few tips that could save the privacy of your content there.

o The simplest protection method is to only send encrypted or Zipped content up there for storage. If you are using zip files, use the Zip password feature before sending. This helps to protect your content even if that site gets hacked.

o Encrypt your important files on your computer first before sending them to the cloud. In fact, it is a good idea to only store your important files on your computer in encrypted formats only even when they reside on your computer. Encryption products like MEGA and SpiderOak can help you here. If you are really working with sensitive content regularly, you can also implement products like encFS – it takes a couple of hours to install, but it can setup folders on your computer that automatically encode all files you move there. This folder and its subsets look and behave just like normal folders on your PC so once installed, encryption is automatic for you.

Use of plugins such as webcams and microphones. Set your privacy settings to disallow applications to use them on your PC and disconnect external microphones and webcams when not in use. It is not that difficult for an external to get into most systems and take control of these devices to watch you or record you as you do things in and around your computer.

If you are on a Microsoft platform, consider installing their free application – “The Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit.” Microsoft Quote: “The Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET) is a utility that helps prevent vulnerabilities in software from being successfully exploited. EMET achieves this goal by using security mitigation technologies. These technologies function as special protections and obstacles that an exploit author must defeat to exploit software vulnerabilities. These security mitigation technologies do not guarantee that vulnerabilities cannot be exploited. However, they work to make exploitation as difficult as possible to perform. EMET also provides a configurable SSL/TLS certificate pinning feature that is called Certificate Trust. This feature is intended to detect (and stop, with EMET 5.0) man-in-the-middle attacks that are leveraging the public key infrastructure (PKI).”

When you are out browsing websites that you may be clicking content and links on, be looking for https sites where you can – but don’t just trust the (s) on the end of the URL’s http. Click on the associated lockbox to check out the legitimacy of the security certificate details for the webpage being explored.

Scorpion System Protection is an anti-hacking software product you may consider purchasing. Built to support Microsoft, the NIST, DoD, and Homeland Security remote access standards, this product will help increase the security of your computer to Government usage standards.

Sandboxie is a protection application you can purchase for both home and business use. It is a good place to run new software you have concerns about using plus it has a lot of great other features. Sandboxie uses isolation technology to separate programs from your underlying operating system preventing unwanted changes from happening to your personal data, programs and applications that rest safely on your hard drive.

When surfing the Internet, never login from your computer while in Administrator mode on your computer. You do not want this login information to be shared out there in Cyberspace. Only go to the Internet from user accounts you have set up on your computer.

In summary, implementing some or all of these ideas on your computer and in your online life will go a long way to protecting you. That’s all for this article. Bye for now.

Setting your WhatsApp profile on Android and iOS

Downloading WhatsApp from it’s official website is the first step! Choose your operating system and download the whatsapp status and version according to your phone. After the app is installed, open it! The first thing you will notice after opening the app is that it asks for your phone number, enter it and confirm your identity! Second, enter you preferred name and click on next!
WhatsApp will automatically detect your friends from your contacts menu! Next you will see a list of friends, friends who are online and offline. You can also check last seen for each friend! You will also notice their whatsapp dp and their whatsapp statuses! Now here is the interesting part, you can customise your profile, the way you want it!
Pick any picture and put it as your display picture, pick any status and put it as your status for whatsapp! there are so many things you can do in your profile, their is simply no limit. I recently taught a bunch of friends of mine to install the app and use it for their social and business purposes! After whatsapp reached 1 billion users, it simply hasn’t looked back. Facebook’s acquisition of the former company also resulted in a massive increase of its usage!
Now everybody is trying to impress their friends by putting the
Since the foundation of whatsapp, one can say that their user engagement has been so much higher than other messaging apps!

Tips On The Online Store Usability Enhancement

There is an intense competition in the E-commerce market and the reality is that competitive companies are just one click away. Moreover, the situation is changing so fast that weak online stores may become more powerful in the short run, so if a merchant wants their store to survive they must always “keep an eye on the ball”. One faultless way to keep the market share and not to lose customers is to carefully monitor usability of the online store and make it as comfortable for purchasing online as possible. In this article we will take a closer look at a few tips that can be easily implemented for improving the situation.

Even if you are able to provide a wide range of quality products and your prices are very competitive, there is still no guarantee that visitors will make purchases in your online store. The matter of usability is very topical for e-commerce, because in most cases visitors are left to their own devices during the purchase process, which means that it is impossible to influence their behavior. Let’s take a closer look.

“Join us” / “Register” /”Sign Up”/ “Log in” Button

Registered visitors are very valuable for any online store, because they leave some information about themselves so it is possible to communicate with them and build a loyalty program. So, the first strict rule is that ‘Register’ button has to be easy to find. The way you name the button is also important. “Join us” is more associated with a club or a community. You join an organization. “Register” button is used when a user needs to enter some data to the system for future access. For example, you need to register in order to place comments. “Sign up” button means that a visitor agrees to be a participant of something, it is like “sign up for the military”, or “sign up for the seminar”. “Log in / out” button is perceived more technically than “Sign in / out”, but the value is approximately the same. It is up to you what names you choose and how many buttons you need, but sometimes it is better to ask the audience about what is clearer to them. You also have to create the appropriate button design which includes color, font, size and wording. The button should be clearly visible but it has to fit in with the store’s corporate style.

Avoid mandatory registration

Visitors hate mandatory registration that is why it is better not to make the difference between registered and guest users. Both categories of visitors must have the same rights and opportunities. Registration or “Sing up” is needed when the user is going to buy something. Please consider that complex sign-up process that takes a lot of time can alienate customers away. You can also allow guest visitors to go through checkout without registration, and after this suggest them to sign up in order to make their next purchase in your online store easier.

Provide comfortable search functionality

Navigation or search features allow visitors to find desired products in the store. Firstly, it is necessary to understand the search criteria that potential customers use. There are clear and obvious criteria such as prices, brands, models, colors and so on. But some users prefer using specific search criteria. For example, women may search by unusual color names: terracotta, cherry, lemon color. Some users search by the product dimensions or products with reviews. The best way to identify the non-standard search criteria is to ask the online store visitors what is important for them and what words, names and terms they prefer to use. Only after this the navigation functionality can be implemented to the online store.

Other online store elements

The LOGO is a visible online store element and it is not only a brand identity. If you click on the logo on most websites you know where you will be forwarded to. Logo leads to the home page regardless of how deep into the online store you are.

SEO Tip. Logo on the website’s home page should be inactive, because circular reference which leads to the same page where it is located is unsuitable and bad for SEO, so it is better to get rid of it.

Such elements as MY ACCOUNT and MY CART should be placed at the top right corner of the page. These are generally accepted things and people are accustomed to look for these elements there. It is rather a recommendation and, if you put these elements in a different place – make sure that users can quickly find them.

BREADCRUMBS are not something very outstanding, but they are very convenient for users because they show full path to the page that customers are viewing. They are usually placed horizontally across the top of the page and indicate the online store current page’s hierarchy in relation to the website structure. Breadcrumbs navigation is very useful for SEO.

The FOOTER in the online store is another place where visitors look for the necessary information. It is better to put some significant elements like Terms, Privacy Policy, License Agreement and others in the footer, as those may be of interest to your customers and should be easy to find.

Provide Related Items

If you suggest related items effectively you can increase sales because of cross-selling. Related products may be bought in addition to the product the visitor is searching for. The Related Products block can be placed depending on the e-platform, theme and page layout. Generally, you can set the related items for each product that will be recommended to the customers.

Avoid Hidden Charges

Customers definitely leave the online store if the price on the last step of the purchase turns out to be higher than the price they saw on the product page. Be sure that you display prices, shipping charges, taxes and discounts clearly. Very often the extra charge can be shown separately and visitors don’t pay attention to this block of information. Check twice and even do the usability test to be sure that buyers understand everything correctly when they choose the products, so that they know the final sum they have to pay before going to checkout.

There are only some tips and, as you can see, there are only hints and ideas related to making your online store better. There are no strict instructions and rules that you would certainly need to apply. You should analyze the situation, implement changes, run tests and compare the results, as only this kind of approach will show you what is right and effective for your e-commerce business.

Facebook Ads and Google AdWords – What’s The Difference?

As a small business owner with a limited marketing budget, how can you get the best results for your online ad campaign?

Google and Facebook are the largest advertising platforms on the Internet, both allowing you to target customers and spread your brand message.

The most important difference between using Facebook ads & Google Ads is the way your audience will encounter your ad. While Facebook chooses ads to display based on a user’s stated interests and demographics, a Google ad is targeted based on the user’s search terms. The difference is similar to browsing (Facebook) vs. going straight to what you know you want (Google). Both approaches can be useful for reaching potential customers. Facebook is an effective tool for generating brand awareness, while Google works best as for pull marketing.

This article looks at the similarities and differences between the two and when you might choose one approach over the other.

Google AdWords

AdWords lets you bid on a certain keyword or phrase to have your ad show up when a user searches on that term. The key to making the most of this approach is to carefully research keywords and know what language your customers are using. Your main goal when using Google pay per click (PPC) ads is to make sure that your advertising copy and landing page match up well with a user’s search term.

If the user is looking for a certain product or type of item, you’ll get a higher click through rate (CTR) when your content matches their needs.

Facebook advertising platform

Facebook offers a broader marketing approach, where you are able to market to people who fit certain demographics or psychographics but who aren’t necessarily searching for your product. This lets you educate potential consumers about the value you provide. Facebook restructured it’s advertising platform earlier this year to make its target marketing approach more powerful. You can target customers by location, demographics, or connections.

The connections option lets you reach friends of those who like your page, for instance. You can also target people based on stated interests and the Facebook groups they’ve joined, as well as based on their past shopping behaviour. If you are trying to build brand awareness a loose targeting approach is a good strategy. This lets you cast the net wide and reach a large group of potential customers. The opposite tactic is to tightly target your ads and run multiple short campaigns to see what combination of factors gives the best ROI.

Relative costs

Even though the approaches of the two platforms are complementary rather than identical, it’s fair to consider the cost per click (CPC) amount for each approach. Facebook advertising tends to be cheaper than an AdWords campaign, with a CPC charge of $0.25 on the low end. In contrast, if you want to rank highly for very competitive search terms on Google, the cost can be $100 per click or higher. Obviously that isn’t always the case, but in general a Facebook campaign will cost less. But cheaper isn’t always better, so it is more important to compare the results. For this, the number we want to look at is cost per acquisition (CPA), not CPC. For example, lets assume that the CPC for a Facebook campaign is $1.00, while an AdWords campaign is five times more expensive with a CPC of $5.00. But because the Google campaign is very effectively matched with the right search terms, it has a 10 per cent conversion rate compared to Facebook’s 1 per cent. For this example, we’d say that the CPA for the Facebook ad is $100 while the Google ad has an acquisition cost of only $50.

The key to making the most of your marketing budget on these platforms is to carefully measure ad performance. Fortunately, Facebook ads & Google ads both offer powerful analytics to track traffic and conversion rates.

Choosing a platform

While Google ads often have a somewhat lower cost per acquisition because it is so focused on customer search terms, this approach has its limitations. Facebook ads allow you to reach a wider audience, including people who may not have realised they wanted or needed your product. Both types of advertising can pay off if you have the right data to run an effective campaign. For Google ads you’ll need the keywords that your customers are searching on and for Facebook ads you’ll need to experiment with targeting different markets. Your best bet may be to try a mix of both advertising channels and track the number and types of leads you get from each service.

Should you bring in a pro? One way to get the most out of your marketing budget is to work with an online advertising agency, also known as a social media agency, mobile marketing agency, or digital marketing agency.

A social media agency offers many benefits, including marketing expertise, and outsider’s view, and knowledge of the latest tools and trends. The largest benefit is that you’ll instantly acquire expertise and access to professional tools. Online marketing is always changing, and it takes time and effort to keep up with trends and make the best decisions. You’ll also get access to the best analytics tools so you can track customer response metrics easily and effectively. Some of these tools can costs hundreds of dollars per month to license, but with a digital marketing agency you’ll have access to all the data you need to make the most of your budget. Whether you work with a team or handle everything yourself, the best bet for online marketing success is to spread your marketing budget across both platforms. The percentage you spend on each depends on your current goals. Are you aiming for broader brand awareness (Facebook) or hoping for a more immediate ROI (Google).

Companies are reporting good results for both types of advertising so experiment a bit and find out what works for your business.

A professional with over 7 years experience working within the advertising and marketing communications industry. Practical knowledge, understanding and experience for a wide range of business disciplines including the financial services, legal, commercial services, retail, online, charitable and civil service sectors.